Banana Bread Stackers

May 16, 2011 § 2 Comments

I absolutely cannot stomach bananas. I hate the way they smell, the way the feel, even the way they sound when chewed. I’m fully aware that my aversion to this fruit  is likely my most childish quality.

I happen to live with a person who really likes bananas.  He eats them everyday.  They are always in our apartment. Despite my hatred for bananas on their own, I don’t mind and sometimes actually enjoy, banana bread.  Of course that’s the case.  Just add butter and sugar and I’ll like it.

For the past few weeks I’ve been meaning to make banana bread.  Come Sunday there are usually a few sitting in a bowl on our counter, on their last leg.  Usually I’m too slow.  By the time I get around to pulling out the flour and eggs they’ve been devoured by my banana loving roommate.  But yesterday, I managed to reserve two from the bowl, and throw together a small loaf.  An intentionally small loaf, as this bread will mostly be consumed by one person.  I found though, by halving the recipe, the bread created these adorale biscotti shaped pieces of cake, perfect for enjoying with coffee or smearing with peanut butter.  If you’d like a bigger loaf, simply double the recipe.

Banana Bread Stackers adapted from Smitten Kitchen 

2 ripe bananas, smashed

3 T melted salted butter

1/3 c light brown sugar

1 egg, beaten

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2  tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt

1/2  teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 T ground flax seeds

1/2 c all purpose flour

1/4 c whole wheat flour

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, vanilla, then the spices. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 30-35  minutes, or until a tester comes out clean. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

§ 2 Responses to Banana Bread Stackers

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Banana Bread Stackers at Channeling Contessa.

meta

