A New Lunch Routine

July 5, 2011 § 3 Comments

I’m  a picker.  If I had my way, every meal I ate would mirror an antipasto platter- small bites of cheese, bread, cured meats, and lots of olives.  It’s not specifically Italian fare that I prefer, it’s just the style of eating.   I crave this type of dining at lunch especially.  With my new work from home schedule, I’m able to create these little nibble lunches every day. This is heaven.

Today was day one of lunching at home, and it was made extra special by the fact that I had just received a jar of these amazing peppers from Dana.  Dana generously offered to ship these literally across the country to me (Seattle to NY), since they aren’t sold in my area.  They are so good, it’s already evident I will need to bite the bullet and buy a case.  I have no doubt I’ll go through every single jar.

The peppers served as topping to my “avocado toast.”  A simpler version of this divine toast, I mashed a quarter of an avocado with a little sea salt and lemon juice on a piece of whole wheat sour dough toast.  I topped it off with a few of Mama Lil’s pickled peppers in garlic oil.  On the second piece of bread I placed a generous spreading of greek yogurt, and topped it with smoked salmon and capers.  Yet another use for Greek yogurt, but truly, the combination of the yogurt with the salmon is so refreshing in comparison to cream cheese. Lastly, you may notice a recurring theme across the plate- olive, capers, and pickled peppers.  Along with antipasto meals, I’d of never tire of something pickled or cured at every meal too.

I’m looking forward to dreaming up all sorts of open face sandwich concoctions for lunch this week.

§ 3 Responses to A New Lunch Routine

  • This looks so easy and delicious!

  • Jen says:

    mashed avocado and smoked salmon may be two of my most favorite foods. this looks like a dream lunch to me!

  • Dana says:

    I’ve never understood people who can just eat a sandwich for lunch. I need more variety and I need the food to last me longer than stuff between two pieces of bread would. I like your antipasto idea – I could nibble on that kind of lunch everyday and be happy. I’m so glad you like the peppers! They are highly addictive.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A New Lunch Routine at Channeling Contessa.

meta

