A Killer Thanksgiving Salad

November 10, 2011 § 8 Comments

I managed to actually get my act together this year and research some Thanksgiving recipes before the big day. I have a habit of keeping holiday issues of food magazines from previous years.  You can never make all the recipes in one season, so I love referring back to them in later years- they’re such a good source of inspiration!  I was thumbing through my November copy of Bon Appétit from 2009 last week and saw a Thanksgiving salad which really caught my eye- a brussels sprout slaw with mustard dressing and maple glazed pecans (I told you I had a salad coming!).

To see if it was fit for our Thanksgiving table, I did a “test round” this week and made the salad for dinner one night. I added thinly sliced green apples in with the brussels sprouts.  I just couldn’t resist the combination with the glazed pecans and spicy mustard dressing.  I let the salad marinate for three hours before serving. This softened the brussels sprouts and really brought the flavors together.

Before we even sat down to eat I had a hunch this one was a knock out.  Boy, did it deliver.  We loved it so much, it’s not only going on my Thanksgiving table, but will likely become a fall staple.  And to think I didn’t even like brussels sprouts that much! If they’re not your favorite either, you must must try them in salad form.

I hope you have a relaxing weekend ahead. My mom’s in town for a little joint birthday celebration.  More on that on Monday!

Brussels Sprout and Apple Slaw with Mustard Dressing slightly adapted from Bon Appétit
Makes 8 servings

  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1 cup large pecan halves
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon plus 1 tablespoon coarse kosher salt plus additional for seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup whole grain Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 pounds brussels sprouts, trimmed
  • 1 granny smith apple, thinly sliced

Make the pecans- recipe here. (can be made two days aheads).

Whisk mustard, vinegar, lemon juice, and sugar in small bowl; whisk in oil. Season with coarse salt and pepper.

To cut the brussels sprouts you can use a food processor fitted with 1/8- to 1/4-inch slicing disk, and feed them through, or slice then as thinly as possible with a knife and then gently pull apart the pieces.  Place the shave brussels sprouts and sliced apples in a large serving bowl.

Toss brussels sprouts and apples with dressing. Let marinate for 3 hours before serving. Mix in some pecans. Place slaw in serving bowl. Top with remaining pecans.

§ 8 Responses to A Killer Thanksgiving Salad

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Killer Thanksgiving Salad at Channeling Contessa.

meta

