A Salad That Will Make You Love Salad

January 11, 2012 § 7 Comments

I’m a die hard salad fan. I could eat the stuff every day and never get sick of it. I realize, though, that’s not the case for everyone. In fact, if you don’t love salad that much, this salad is for you. If your favorite way to eat salad is in Caesar form or perhaps smothered in Ranch dressing, I urge you- make. this. salad.

I can’t take complete credit. I am forever inspired by Joy the Baker and what she whips up in her kitchen. And while it’s often her baked goods I’m drooling over, the girl can make a mean salad.  This shaved brussels sprouts one really caught my eye. The combo of ingredients has been on my mind for months and I finally got around to recreating it this week.  Here’s the breakdown: shaved brussels sprouts, diced pineapple, avocado, and sea salt roasted cashews get tossed together in a creamy honey dijon vinaigrette.  You let the salad marinate a bit so the brussels sprouts can soften and the pineapple can release some of its juices.  A half an hour later you have, hands down, one of the best salads you’ve ever eaten. Seriously! I don’t usually tout my kitchen accomplishments but when something is this good, I can’t help but feel excited.  Especially when it’s salad! Not to mention a salad with absolutely no cheese- the perfect salad if you’re in the New Year mode of eating better.

So there you have it- I did my healthy eating New Year deed. I’ll be back with butter later this week.

Shaved Brussels Sprouts, Pineapple, Avocado, and Sea Salt Roasted Cashew Salad inspired by Joy the Baker
Makes 6-8 appetizer salad portions

  • 1 lb brussels sprouts, washed, trimmed, and thinly sliced
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh pineapple, cut into medium size chunks
  • 1/3 cup cashews, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 T olive oil
  • sea salt

For the dressing:

  • 1/2 (heaping) T good quality dijon mustard (I use Maille)
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper

Roast the Cashews: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a small baking dish toss the cashews with 1/2 tablespoon olive and a generous shake of sea salt. Roast for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Set aside to cool.  Place all remaining ingredients for the salad in a large bowl.

Make the dressing:  Whisk together all ingredients but the olive oil. Once combined, stream in olive- whisking to combine as it’s stirred in.

Pour dressing over the salad and toss gently to combine. Place in fridge for 30 minutes so flavors can meld. Before serving, toss once more and taste for seasoning. Add additional salt if necessary. Top salad with roasted cashews right before serving.

§ 7 Responses to A Salad That Will Make You Love Salad

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Salad That Will Make You Love Salad at Channeling Contessa.

meta

