Bring on the Pink & Red

February 2, 2012 § 3 Comments

Yesterday marked the 1st of February, which means Valentine’s Day is just two weeks away! Ok, I know, not everyone is so jazzed about this holiday. And admittedly I, too, don’t feel the need to run out and buy gifts or send cards to everyone. I simply love it because it provides an opportunity to indulge my sweet tooth in all things pink and covered in frosting.  I’ll be sharing some baking recipes next week to ring in the 14th, but today I wanted to share a few celebratory ideas that don’t require restaurant reservations. I’m a firm believer that this holiday is meant to be spent at home indulging in great food with friends or a loved one.  Here are my go to ideas:

  • A Cheese Feast:  Could you see this one coming from a mile away? I can’t help it, I just love cheese! Indulge in a couple pieces of really really good cheese, a fresh baguette, and a nice bottle of wine.  Create a relaxing playlist and nosh the night away.
  • Lobster & Champagne:  Brandon and I love lobster, and this one has been on my to do list for a long time. It’s a bit pricier than other dinner options, but cooking it at home is far cheaper than ordering it at a restaurant.  If preparing lobster sounds a little bit scary, that’s totally ok- it’s part of the fun!  Just make sure you have a really big pot!
  • Homemade Pizza Party: We often make homemade pizza for dinner, and it’s a great dish to make with friends because it truly is a group effort.  Invite a bunch of people over and ask everyone to bring a different topping.  Make your dough from scratch or pick up some from a pizzeria, and have everything prepped before your guests arrive.  Once they get there, open a couple bottles of red wine and start building your pies.
  • Candy Aisle Raid: I have to be honest, I am a complete candy addict. I’d be perfectly happy heading to the nearest CVS on Valentine’s day, raiding the candy aisle, and treating myself to a chocolate and gummy candy dinner while watching my favorite romance movie. Hmmm this might be the most tempting option.

How are you celebrating?

Photo Credit

§ 3 Responses to Bring on the Pink & Red

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bring on the Pink & Red at Channeling Contessa.

meta

