Old School Snacks

February 22, 2012 § 17 Comments

Look familiar? Did you eat “Ants on a Log” growing up? I actually did not, but we happened to have the three key ingredients in our cupboard and fridge this week (well, I used almond butter instead of peanut butter), and I couldn’t help but indulge in such an old school treat.

This snack got me thinking about what I ate religiously growing up. I was, and still am, a cereal fiend. I really can’t buy the stuff too often because I always plow through it at lightning speed. I’ve likely eaten more than my weight in Granny Smith apples dipped in peanut butter, and PB&J sandwiches. And, I vividly remember going through a period where I melted string cheese in the microwave and then proceeded to eat in slowly by pulling apart the melty strands with a fork. That snack still sounds kind of good now!

So I’m curious, what did you eat growing up? Do you still eat it? I could still eat apples and peanut butter and PB&J sandwiches all day long and I’d be perfectly content.

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 17 Responses to Old School Snacks

  • Bread with ketchup and melted cheese – we called it pizza. We lived in Thailand so that was pretty close to pizza.

  • Elizabeth says:

    Get ready to cringe: my after school snack was a Sunkist orange soda and several dollops of raw cookie dough.

    Seriously. I should have weighed 300 pounds.

    That said, I’d still eat it.

  • This looks awesome. I’ve never thought of eating celery like this before – it’s a REALLY good idea. What a perfect way to serve dips.

  • bowtiqx says:

    We ate Ramen noodles with shrimp in it…every now and then it’s good!

  • Wow, blast from the past! It’s funny, a couple of weeks ago, I ate a Granny Smith apple, cut into quarters, smothered in peanut butter, and sprinkled with raisins. I called it “ants on a boat.” 🙂

  • Emily says:

    One of the weirder things I ate…peanut butter and butter sandwiches. I don’t think I’ve had one since I was about 11, but I used to like them better than pb&j. Eek!

    • Clara says:

      I’m totally on board! In fact I had toast with butter and almond butter this weekend :). Also good- nutella and butter, and bagels with cream ceese and butter. I know, I’m really really bad!

  • Oh yes! I ate my celery with cream cheese. These days it’s the popular South Beach celery with Laughing Cow cheese.

  • I love how our past gets entangled with food! We ate celery with something my grandma called pimento cheese. To. Die. For. And then of course there’s the ever popular olives on all ten fingers. 🙂

  • Dana says:

    This photo cracked me up because I TOTALLY make that for my kids! My younger son kind of won’t eat vegetables unless they are carrots dipped in hummus or celery peanut butter and raisins. I ate apples and peanut butter and celery with cream cheese a lot as a kid.

  • Bob Vivant says:

    My 42-year-old husband just admitted that he’s never heard of “ants on a log”. How can that be?

    My after school snack was orange nehi and ritz crackers with cream cheese. Makes me a little queasy to think about now. Special occasion treat was a grilled PB&J. I can still remember the hot PB running down my chin.

  • eternalros3 says:

    I had a bunch of favorite snacks, especially ‘ants on a log’. My big thing was making it in different ways – cheese and celery with crackers, or just peanut butter and celery without raisins, and so on.
    The most memorable snack I can come up with is Dunkaroos…Little Teddy Grahams packaged with a packet of frosting to dip the crackers into. I cannot find this snack anywhere now, but I have heard there are several stores that still sell it.
    My favorite thing to do was to take traditional snacks and dress them up in different ways, depending on my mood. {Mint thins topped with chocolate syrup, sprinkles, and whip cream/ice cream…yum.}

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old School Snacks at Channeling Contessa.

meta

