Eating in Season

March 8, 2012 § 6 Comments

Are you good about only eating produce that’s in season? I do my best, but I’m not always the greatest at it. A few weeks back I discovered this awesome tool on Real Simple that tells you what’s in season in your state. I knew, generally, what was in season from month to month, but not the specifics between early April vs late April, and so on.

At first the tool was a little depressing. I scrolled down for New York and saw that only carrots, potatoes, and onions are in season right now. I sort of knew that in the back of my mind, but it’s different when it’s right there, staring you in the face! But instead of feeling frustrated that I still have to wait months for berries, asparagus, corn, and tomatoes to be in season, I decided to take full advantage of carrots, potatoes, and onions while they’re in their full glory.

Here’s my plan below. With these recipes, I can’t wait to indulge in these ingredients!

1. Carrots- Creamy Carrot Soup

2. Potatoes- Potato Latkes

3. Onions- Caramelized Onion Tart with Gorgonzola and Brie (Yum!)

Photo Credit 1, 2, 3

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Eating in Season

  • I try to do it as often as possible, though it’s not always necessary these days – many ingredients stay low in price in or our of season, though perhaps they aren’t quite as good. I do try though… that soup looks incredible, I can never resist a vivid looking soup…

  • Liza M. says:

    I’ve been meaning to make carrot soup all winter (since I went to Ireland in July and had it almost everyday!). Thanks for reminding me of that.

  • Squishy says:

    My gosh, your entire post made me SALIVATE like CRAZY!!

    XOXO
    The Squishy Monster ^.^

  • Rebecca LeFever says:

    It’s tough to eat in season. During the fall, I tried to make butternut squash soup — which I adore, but my boyfriend hates. He won’t touch it at all. So I can make a big batch, but I have to be prepared to eat it all myself.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eating in Season at Channeling Contessa.

meta

