Best Reads of 2012: Part Two

December 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

channeling contessa best reads 2

 

I’m excited to add onto Clara’s recommendations, and give you four more books that I loved this year. Looking back, I’ve noticed that each selection I’ve made corresponds to a certain point in time over the past year. For example, I read One Fifth Avenue while sitting on the beach at Sandy Hook, and reading Where’d You Go, Bernadette (by candlelight, no less) got me through the Sandy power outages. I can’t think of a better post to end the year with.

1. Where’d You Go, Bernadette: I think everyone needs to read this book! This was by far my favorite book in quite some time, and I read it in two days. The main character, Bernadette, is hopelessly chic, always armed with oversized sunglasses and silk scarves. I’d have to describe this book as quirky- in the best possible way, and the fact that it’s composed as a series of letters adds to that fact. As someone who loves a good cover, I was happy to find that the story lived up to the beautiful artwork on the outside.

2. The Family Fang: If you’re looking for something different, I would highly recommend this book. It’s not your typical novel, but I loved that about it. The story follows Annie and Buster Fang as they try to distance themselves from their parents, who are entirely devoted to their work as performance artists.

3. Complications: One of my favorite classes while in school was a course called Science, Medicine, and Ethics. I’ve never been had any desire to go to med school, but I did love exploring the ethical side of things. My love of that class inspired me to pick up this nonfiction book, beautifully written by a surgeon. It explores the human aspect of medicine, through a series of case studies. I promise you, it is definitely not boring!

4. One Fifth Avenue: I’ve had this book for a while, but reread it recently, and remembered how great it is. It’s definitely a beach read, but one of my favorites to date. It follows the intertwined lives of the residents inside One Fifth Avenue.

I’m definitely in need of recommendations for 2013, so if you haven’t shared, please do!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Best Reads of 2012: Part Two at Channeling Contessa.

meta

