Biz Notes: Three Quick Hit Lessons in Self Employment

February 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

apartment-34-office

Back with another Biz Notes piece today, and since my posts as of late have been bordering on novel like length, I wanted to keep things a little lighter today! Lately I’ve had a few lessons swirling around in my head that have really seemed to come into play in my second year of working for myself.

Be Conscious of Boundaries I have a hard time saying no to things. In my first year of business I had the time to be a little more flexible and perhaps give more to a client than originally stated. But once my workload was filled to the brim (which seems to be the pattern for my second year!), boundaries- and actually setting them- became much more important. And truthfully it made me much more aware of the importance of setting them regardless of how much work I have. That bending over backwards work method is not a good pattern to set.

Celebrate Successes Are you constantly charging ahead, always looking to the next thing and not celebrating all you’ve accomplished in the present? This is totally me. In general I think I have a tendency to live in the future, or at least always look to it. I’m trying to be better about not only being conscious of current successes, but actually celebrating them.  Manicures, fancy dinners, and a killer statement piece are all on my treat myself list… what about you guys?

Practice Letting Go Something a little funky has been going on with my Mac mail program and it’s messing up the addresses from which my emails are being sent. Frustrating and annoying, but not the end of the world. But yesterday I realized just how much energy I was putting into stressing over the situation. It was like a light switch was flipped and I was able to shut it off and just let go of the issue. It then got me thinking about other things I could work on “letting go,” in order to remove stress from my life- things that just aren’t worth it. I’m sure you can think of a few of those in your life…

Just looking at the bolded items above is putting me at ease. Even though I’m constantly faced with challenges, things do get considerably easier. When I think back on where I was a year ago and all that I know now in terms of working for myself- I can’t even imagine what it’s going to feel like in another year.

Photo by Emily Anderson of Apartment 34 Office

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Biz Notes: Three Quick Hit Lessons in Self Employment at Channeling Contessa.

meta

