Spring 2013 Wedding Trends

March 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

Spring 2013 wedding florals

With spring brings the start of wedding season! How many are on your calendar already?

Weddings are definitely a cause for celebration, but all too often they cause unnecessary stress-especially for the bride to be. I think one of the best ways to ensure you don’t drive yourself crazy, is to pick the details that matter to you most, and focus on making those perfect. For me, those details would definitely be food (the best part!) and florals.

I’ve been seeing a lot of embellished bouquets this season, and I’m really drawn to the trend. Adding feathers provides a vintage feel, especially when paired with a mint inspired palette, and ribbon turns any grouping of flowers into a statement. My favorite is that cameo, above, but any pendant that’s special to you would work. Lastly- have you thought about non-floral arrangements? Picture vintage brooches, berries, and even things like wheat and kale!  I kind of love the earthiness of a kale bouquet.

2013 wedding food trends

Next, food- the area where I’d invest most of my time. There are so many options out there, but I’ve picked a few of my favorite trends for this season. Cakes that are  either printed (some even hand painted!), or embellished with bright colors, provide a fresh perspective. My very favorite trend is including options besides the cake. Here‘s a great list of fun options, but I’d have to go with a s’mores bar- only the best food ever invented. I’m also always impressed when couples dream up a creative cocktail reception- rather than your traditional sit down dinner. I’ll take those mini tacos and margaritas over the chicken option any day.

Would you include any of these trends in your own wedding? If you’re married, what was your favorite detail?

Floral images: feathersribbonbaubleskale
Food Images: cocktail bitesprinted cakes, s’mores barbrights

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring 2013 Wedding Trends at Channeling Contessa.

meta

