Girl Crush: Jeanine // Love and Lemons

May 22, 2013 § Leave a comment

girl crush 3

Have you been introduced to Jeanine, of Love an Lemons? It’s hard to miss her signature food photography on Pinterest (with that white marble backdrop!), and her blog is admittedly the first place I turn when I’m looking for something healthy and delicious. Although we’ve been followers of Love and Lemons for a while, we wanted to know a bit more about Jeanine’s day to day life, and what goes into the blog we know and love.

Where did you grow up, and where did life lead you once you left? I grew up outside of Chicago and moved to Austin after college. Had to get away from those winters! I love to travel all over, but I’m happy to call Austin home.

What jobs have you held in the past, and what’s your current day job? I’ve been a graphic designer for number of years, working at various studios before going out on my own. Currently, my day job is made up of design projects, recipe development, food styling & an assortment of content development work.

How did you first get into cooking? Any formal training? My mom always cooked, so I’d say I learned the basics from her. But it was my first trip to Italy that inspired my passion for it. Italy changes people.

Love and Lemons has the most incredible recipes – what made you start blogging? What have you learned since your first post? At first, I just wanted a place to record what I was making. I’m usually a terrible note-taker so blogging has forced me to write things down. I also wanted a place to recap little every-day moments. I can easily remember vacations and special occasions, but “regular” days have a way of blurring into one another. My strongest memories are associated with food so it felt like the perfect format.

 I’ve learned so much since the first post – from how to use social media (I had previously avoided it at all costs), to how to make certain foods look pretty (risotto, I’m talking to you). It’s also been fascinating to learn what types of foods my readers respond to the most. I’m sure other bloggers see traffic boosts when they post bacon or cupcakes… but the ingredient my readers seem most obsessed with is cauliflower. I mean, who knew?

How much time does one recipe take from idea to final post? That can vary quite a lot, and it largely depends on the type of post. But sometimes it’s the simplest things that end up taking forever, and the more complex projects end up working out quickly. It all depends on the flow of the day.

How do you balance life and blogging? I don’t really. I’m constantly working on it or thinking about it. I’m always on the lookout for inspiration, so it’s on my mind even when I’m choosing restaurants, vacations, etc.

What’s your morning routine? I wake up to my little puppy biting my hair. (No alarm clocks needed here!). I get up, feed the dogs, then make breakfast and pour coffee. I head to the computer and usually start the day editing photos or writing posts before moving on to other projects.

 Favorite part of your day? happy hour

Your dream weekend involves… Long walks and good food. Bonus points if the long walks and good food are happening in an exotic location, but a simple stroll around our own town makes me pretty happy.

Three products you can’t live without: Chameleon cold brew coffee, avocados, and the obvious… lemons.

Your guilty pleasure: the box of “weekday” wine in my fridge.

Most recent happy purchase: The cupcake I ate about 15 minutes ago.

Plans for this summer: Not sure yet. Hopefully a trip of some sort, but I usually don’t plan those things until the very last minute.

Something about you most people wouldn’t realize or know: I realize my blog looks pretty clean and organized, but I’m kind of a mess. There’s laundry on the floor, and I can hardly see my computer desktop because so many file icons are piling on top of each other.

Thanks, Jeanine! It’s reassuring to know that you enjoy the occasional cupcake, and that we might just find a box of wine in your fridge!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Girl Crush: Jeanine // Love and Lemons at Channeling Contessa.

meta

