Life Lately | Six Years |

May 24, 2013 § Leave a comment

Channeling-Contessa-Rocky-Point-12

Happy Friday, friends! I’m mixing up today’s Life Lately post a bit as Sunday marks a big date on the calendar. Brandon and I will be ringing in six whole years! Six years?!? Where does the time go? This whole 20s period- yeah, too fast, people. TOO FAST.

The calendar aside, I thought I’d take a moment today to share some of my biggest lessons learned over the past six years, when it comes to being in a relationship. The two of us have come to make quite a team, and I really have to remind myself daily of how lucky I am! Of course, I also tell Brandon all the time how lucky he is to have me, naturally. That said, relationships don’t come without their ups and downs, and we’ve definitely had our fair share. The good news is that the longer we’re together, the easier it becomes to recognize those moments as opportunities that ultimately bring us closer together. So…. here goes!

Maintain Perspective A good friend of mine once said, “Don’t end a relationship over a sink of dirty dishes.” In other words, learn not to sweat the small stuff. Ok yes, dirty dishes should be a shared duty, but you get where I’m going with this. It’s so important to maintain perspective when it comes to the big picture of your relationship and learn to let go of the little things that don’t really matter in the long run. I’m a total work in progress here!

Truly Accept Each Other Like truly. I’ve found it’s really easy to gloss over this one. It’s so easy to be like yeah yeah we accept each other! And then constantly nitpick over the little things. The aha moment for me was realizing there are always going to be these little things for both of us. We’ve gotten really good at making fun of each other for our silly (aka annoying) habits and just moving on!

Maintain Your Independence Last year due to a combo of work and vacation travel, Brandon and I were apart for a whole month. I remember telling people this and getting the response, “How will you survive?!?!” I was so perplexed! Sure we’d miss each other, but I’m a firm believer that it’s a good thing to miss each other now and then in a relationship. And to maintain your independence. Along with doing things together, I think it’s also important for the health of  a relationship to go out with friends from time to time on your own, engage in separate activities, and so forth.

Laugh. As much as you can. Admittedly a little corny, but truly, the more you can laugh, the easier it will be to weather the occasional storm. How’s that for a relationship metaphor. 

And lastly, get yourself some good sounding boards! My go tos are my mom and a handful of friends in their mid 30s (<– those people are gold).

Any big relationship tips you guys have? I’d love to hear! Also, check back in tomorrow for a roundup of CC Memorial Day recipes to get you all prepped for the holiday weekend. Hope yours is a good one! xx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life Lately | Six Years | at Channeling Contessa.

meta

