On My Bookshelf | October |

October 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

Untitled-1

I can’t believe my trip to Mexico has almost arrived! It’s mildly terrifying how fast the year has gone, but if it gets me closer to my vacation, I’ll take it. I’m particularly excited about this trip because I will not be taking my laptop. You read right, no laptop for four whole days! I’m already starting to feel anxiety about this, but I’m going to power through. The world will keep turning without me on my laptop for a long weekend. So between the plane and beach I’ve got lots of time to read. Here’s what I’ve got on tap…

The Light Between Oceans I’m already half way through this one, but plan to finish it during the trip. This book follows the story of a light house keeper who marries and begins a seemingly beautiful life with his wife on a remote island. It’s not the isolation of the island that gets to them, but their method of building a family. I won’t reveal any more, but if you’re into a seductive and mysterious plot line, you’ll love this book. Can’t wait to finish it beachside!

Carry On, Warrior: Thoughts on Life Unarmed Ok this one I planned to read during the trip, but will likely inhale before I set foot on the plane. If you’re not familiar, Carry On Warrior, is the first book my Glennon Melton, author of the blog Momastery. I received this book as a gift and had never even visited Melton’s blog before getting lost in the pages. As someone who has read tons of inspirational/self-help style books, this one really stopped me in my tracks. Melton’s perspective is fresh, uplifting, incredibly real, and consistently hilarious. And despite the fact that I largely don’t share her same thoughts on faith, I found her perspective on life to be utterly brilliant. I’ll be really sad when this one’s over.

By Invitation Only Last week I had the opportunity to hear Alexandra Wilkis Wilson, one of the co-founders of Gilt Groupe, speak on a panel about entrepreneurship. What I loved most about her story was that it was completely relatable. I often think certain entrepreneurs have some sort of “it” factor, something that sets them apart and makes it possible for them to build brilliant companies. Alexandra is most certainly brilliant, but much of her story reflected hard work, persistence, building and leveraging connections wisely, and accepting mistakes (among other things). I can’t wait to learn more about her story in her book, co-written with fellow female co-founder, Alexis Maybank.

Black Heels to Tractor Wheels: A Love Story  I’ve never been a consistent follower of The Pioneer Woman, usually only finding myself on her site when Google has lead  me to one of her recipes. I do love her recipes! But I’m really intrigued by her story, and love the idea of reading about her love story rather than solely her career, because I have a feeling the two are uniquely linked. This seems like a very fitting “beach reach.”

Have you read any of these books? Any that you love? And if you’re in need of even more book recommendations, don’t miss the comments on this post!

Image Sources: 1234 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On My Bookshelf | October | at Channeling Contessa.

meta

